Suicide no. 33: “Suicide no. 33”

Suicide no. 33: “Suicide no. 33”

–by Derek Alan Wilkinson

 

Point, click, rotating arrow. And here we are.

I didn’t even plan it like this.

I turned 33 today. I was born on March 6th, 1981. Pisces. I wanted to write, and formed a website. I chose the darkest of colors to etch out my characters. And here they are, along with you.  I kept trying to come up with a title for another suicide piece, and simply failed.

And here I am, as well.

I looked into the mirror today, and realized that, simply by living out the years as I have—a part of me died. Choices already made are choices as etched in stone as stalagmites and stalactites buried deep within the earth. And there I lie, buried with them—at least, that part of me.

A part of me dies, and another, altogether different, continues to live, with each passing day.

And thus I live.

And as such I slowly die as well.

 

Inspired by The Daily Post’s daily prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/prompt-time-after-time/

9 thoughts on “Suicide no. 33: “Suicide no. 33”

  1. “Someone falls to pieces
    Sleeping all alone
    Someone kills the pain
    Spinning in the silence
    To finally drift away
    Someone gets excited
    In a chapel yard
    Catches a bouquet
    Another lays a dozen
    White roses on a grave

    To be yourself is all that you can do”

    (Audioslave lyrics).

    • They all end in a suicide: although, this one, albeit not as concrete as the others. This one’s more about killing one’s self in an abstract sense.

      When I started writing these pieces, I figured, “What the hell? Why not end every piece that way?” And I’ve just been doing that ever since.

      By the time I’m done, I’ll have a novel-length collection. Possibly more than one. Who knows?

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: Ritual | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: I Wanna Live Again | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s too early yet | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Capturing Rapture” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

